AAO Advocacy

If you are invested in the future of the osteopathic profession, the AAO encourages you to get involved. Start building relationships by attending meetings of your state societies, the AAO's Convocation or the American Ostoepathic Association's annual conference. 

As 2016-17 AOA President Boyd R. Buser, DO, FACOFP, told AAO Member News, "osteopathic associations are the only ones looking out for our interests. ... If you expect someone to advocate for you, you need to support them."


State associations provide their members with local resources, legislative advocacy, continuing medical education and much more. In addition, they provide excellent groundwork for understanding association governance.


The AAO uses AAO Member News and social media outlets to keep members informed of issues that may affect them.

Recently, the Academy worked with the AOA's governmental affairs department to promote SaveOMT.org in response to proposed changes to a local coverage determination that would dramatically impact members in 10 states. In addition, 2016-17 AAO President Laura E. Griffin, DO, FAAO, signed a letter of support for the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act of 2016 on behalf of the Academy's members. 



The AAO works with the International Federation for Manual/Musculoskeletal Medicine (FIMM), the Osteopathic International Alliance (OIA) and the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) to promote standardized principles around the world. 

AAO Governor Michael L. Kuchera, DO, FAAO, has served as FIMM's secretary-general since 2007, and he previously served as FIMM's vice president from 2002 to 2006. Dr. Kuchera served as the AAO's 1996-97 president.

In 2017, Heather P. Ferrill, DO, MS MEdL, who serves on the AAO's Board of Trustees, was appointed as the AAO's representative to FIMM.

Jane E. Carreiro, DO, the AAO's 2013-14 president, is the immediate past chair of the Board of Directors of the Osteopathic International Alliance. Boyd R. Buser, DO, FACOP, the AAO's 1995-96 president and the AOA's 2016-17 president; Ana Paula A. Ferreira, DO (Brazil), an international affiliate member of the Academy; Frank Mueller, MD, DO (Germany), an international affiliate member of the AAO; and John R. Gimpel, DO, MEd, FACOFP, also serve on the OIA's 2017-18 Board of Directors.

International Education...

"Training in Musculoskeletal Medicine: Dry Needling -- The 20 Best," Feb. 21-22, 2018, at the Sheraton in Tel Aviv. Learn more and register at https://dry-needling.isas.co.il/.


John M. Jones, DO, Awarded AT Still Medallion

The American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) has awarded the 2021 Andrew Taylor Still Medallion of Honor to John M. Jones, DO, of Petal, Mississippi.

Walter C. Ehrenfeuchter, DO, FAAO, Receives FAAO Distinguished Service Award

Walter C. Ehrenfeuchter, DO, FAAO, of Suwanee, Georgia, received the Fellow of American Academy of Osteopathy Distinguished (FAAO) Service Award.

AOF/AAO Outstanding Resident in OMM Nominations for 2021

Submit your nomination for 2021 Outstanding Resident in OMM by May 9.