Malinda M. Hansen, DO, MS, Named AAO Resident of the Year

Posted 11:02 AM

Malinda M. Hansen, DO, MS, of Fort Worth, Texas, was named the 2019 Resident of the Year by the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) on March 14 during the AAO’s annual meeting during its Convocation in Orlando, Florida. The award recognizes a resident who has contributed to the AAO; who has contributed to osteopathic principles and practices (OPP) at his or her residency program; and who has participated in such educational events as the AAO’s annual Convocation and the AAO’s program at the American Osteopathic Association’s annual conference. Dr. Hansen is the tenth osteopathic resident to receive this award. She is finishing a combined family medicine and osteopathic neuromusculoskeletal medicine (FM/ONMM) residency at the University of North Texas Health Science Center (UNTHSC) in Fort Worth.

Dr. Hansen is a 2015 graduate of the A. T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (Mesa). Prior to medical school, Dr. Hansen played Division I athletics and started a business where she trained athletes across the spectrum of sports and competitive activities. This led her back to graduate school to get a master’s degree in exercise physiology and ultimately to medical school.

During medical school and residency, Dr. Hansen has been actively involved with the AAO, teaching seminars for students as well as table training for UNTHSC attendings who have presented. Throughout her residency, she has been covering UNT athletes and has had significant exposure to musculoskeletal injuries, treatments and rehab. In July 2019, she will be starting a sports medicine fellowship at the University of Louisville.

In her nomination letter for resident of the year, Dr. Hansen explained that she has realized leadership takes on the necessary form to have the best outcome and she has adapted to the ever-changing roles of leadership. She stated that she loves to teach and that her skills have deepened with her experiences during residency.

Dr. Hansen was nominated by David C. Mason, DO, MBA, FACOFP, program director for the UNTHSC integrated FM/ONMM residency. In his nomination letter, Dr. Mason stated that Dr. Hansen has demonstrated strong leadership, is a problem-solver and is very adept at teaching students, residents and patients. He indicated that because of her ability to effect change and make improvements, the residency program will benefit far into the future because of her process improvement projects.