Scholar Series Presenters

About the Presenters

Robert W. Hostoffer Jr., DO, LhD, FAAP, FACOP, FCCP, FACOIRobert W. Hostoffer Jr., DO
Dr. Hostoffer, who practices in Cleveland, is a nationally recognized expert in allergic and immunologic disorders affecting both children and adults. Dr. Hostoffer presented at the AAO’s 2017 Convocation for the faculty development series. He is an adjunct clinical professor of pediatrics at the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine in Pennsylvania, a clinical professor for the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine and an associate clinical professor in pediatrics at Case Western Reserve University. He also is the program director of the pediatric and adult allergy and immunology (A/I) fellowship at University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center, which was the first AOA-accredited A/I program in the US when it was established through University Hospitals Regional Hospitals. It was recently granted initial accreditation by the ACGME, and it has applied for ACGME osteopathic recognition. The program ranks in the top 20 percent of all A/I programs in the nation.

Dr. Hostoffer is a leader in the medical profession. He is a past president of the Ohio Osteopathic Association, the American College of Osteopathic Pediatricians (ACOP), the Cleveland Academy of Osteopathic Medicine, and the Cleveland Allergy Society. He has published over 100 papers in medical journals, of which a number are focused on advancing the osteopathic concept. He developed pediatric osteopathic manipulative treatment training modules for the ACOP, which are currently available as a resource for the osteopathic profession. 

Dr. Hostoffer is the recipient of many awards, including honorary fellow status in the American College of Osteopathic Internists and 2015 Pediatrician of the Year by ACOP.

Brian P. Peppers, DO, PhDBrian P. Peppers, DO
Dr. Peppers is a board certified pediatrician and chief fellow of the University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center’s pediatric and adult allergy and immunology fellowship created and led by Dr. Hostoffer. Dr. Peppers has an extensive research background from his PhD in organic chemistry, postdoctoral work with adjuvant design and synthesis for vaccines and medical research on projects ranging from case reports to bench.

As an emerging leader in the medical profession, Dr. Peppers helps medical programs design research projects and increase their overall proficiencies in research. His current work in the Scholar 7 program is to help identify and remove barriers that hinder and deter participants from pursuing their scholarly goals. He joined Dr. Hostoffer as a presenter at the 2017 AAO Convocation for the faculty development series. 

Dr. Peppers is a 2011 graduate of the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine in Bradenton, Florida. He completed his pediatric residency at University Hospitals prior to entering his allergy and immunology fellowship. 

Devi K. Jhaveri, DO

Jhaveri completed her medical school training at Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine in Athens. She served a pediatric residency at Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital in Cleveland and an allergy/immunology fellowship at University Hospital, Regional Medical Center in Richmond Heights, Ohio. 

Currently, Jhaveri is an associate partner at Allergy/Immunology Associates Inc. in Mayfield Heights, Ohio. She is a clinical instructor at Case Western Reserve University and assistant program director of the allergy/immunology fellowship at University Hospital.

Michael P. Rowane, DO, FAAFP, FAAO

Rowane has a passion for osteopathic medical education and to impact future physicians to integrate the ideals of the osteopathic approach in the care of their patients.

He is professor of family medicine and osteopathic manipulative medicine at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (LECOM) in Erie, Pennsylvania. He is also associate dean of clinical education for all LECOM campuses.

Previously, he served as the director of medical education at University Hospitals Regional Hospitals, and family medicine program director for UH/Case Western Reserve University.  

Rowane co-directs a national osteopathic faculty development initiative, Training the Osteopathic Professions Core Educators (TOPCE), with the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine; was appointed to the ACGME Osteopathic Principles Committee; and represents all osteopathic training programs for the Electronic Residency Application Service with the Association of American Medical Colleges.


John M. Jones, DO, Awarded AT Still Medallion

The American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) has awarded the 2021 Andrew Taylor Still Medallion of Honor to John M. Jones, DO, of Petal, Mississippi.

Walter C. Ehrenfeuchter, DO, FAAO, Receives FAAO Distinguished Service Award

Walter C. Ehrenfeuchter, DO, FAAO, of Suwanee, Georgia, received the Fellow of American Academy of Osteopathy Distinguished (FAAO) Service Award.

AOF/AAO Outstanding Resident in OMM Nominations for 2021

Submit your nomination for 2021 Outstanding Resident in OMM by May 9.